If you outsource, there is no need to hire a professional: a communications student or entry-level technical writer can do the job. Include a table of contents that lists subsections. Not only does an operations manual save you from relying too much on individual employees, it also serves to guide and reinforce the training of new employees and allows for the self-taught, cross training of existing employees. Not only that, but having documented processes in the first place will mean that your operation runs with less wasted time and money, making it able to rapidly expand. An operations manager works in a wider context and thus, takes the responsibilities of management and related fields away from project manager so that he can solely focus on the current project. Thanks for putting up such great an article up. B2B E-Procurement Is Hard at Work. The PEF Operations Manual was adopted on September 13, 2017 by the PEF Steering Body, and may be amended from time to time in accordance with the PEF Framework (see article IX of the PEF Framework). A major part of reducing human error is to making everyone accountable for their actions. They saw it as extra work.". That’s something I dearly love doing for companies. MamaRed. Ben – Sign In. What’s the best way you’ve found to create an engaging operations manual? You could document your processes, hierarchy, job descriptions, emergency procedures, and more all without creating an operations manual. As well, a major reorganization of the corporate structure occurred in the fall of 1997. “Emergency” could mean anything from a server security breach to an onsite fire – if it’s possible and could result in damage to your company, product, and/or staff, at least take note of it and draft out a procedure for dealing with it. Within these sets of global activities are the specific steps for defining, planning, and managing the project. Tips on a functional layout for your operations manual. The changes to the organization have bee